Pavlova Winds

pavlova-cd-image
Pavlova presents…  new arrangements for wind quintet
Review by Meyrick Alexander in Double Reed News Autumn 2017
‘ No raspberries for this Pavlova!
Listen to Let it Snow on YouTube

Concert Calendar 2019:

Wednesday 30 January Richmond Retirement Homes, Letcombe Regis. Wind trio at 6pm

Sunday 7 April  15 winds ensemble – conducted by Robin O’Neill. Workshop at Freeths solicitors, Oxford.

Monday 4 February St Michaels Cornmarket, 1pm lunchtime concert by Pavlova Winds

Saturday 27 April  Pavlova Quintet concert. North Marston, Bucks. Fundraiser to local church.

Saturday 11 May 7.30pm Challow Park Recital Hall, Wantage.  Schubert Octet with Radcliffe Strings

Sunday 12 May 3pm Abbey Chamber Concerts, Abingdon. Piano and winds with Malcolm Pearce piano. Gordon Jacob sextet, Beethoven Quintet.  http://www.abbeychamberconcerts.org

Monday 10 June 1pm St Michael’s Cornmarket, lunchtime concert Music for winds.    01865 240 940 www.smng.org.uk

Sunday 7 July 3pm  Abbey Chamber Concert, Abingdon.  With Radcliffe strings. Brahms Serenade no 1 in original scoring for wind and string nonet.  http://www.abbeychamberconcerts.org

Sunday 8 September Taking part in fundraising concert at Beckley church.

Sat 14 September 4pm  Oxford Open Doors.  Pavlova Winds   VENUE TBA     Oxford Open Doors www.oxfordpreservation.org.uk

Sunday 15 September 4pm Oxford Open Doors – mini-concert at the Sheldonian Theatre  Oxford Open Doors www.oxfordpreservation.org.uk

Sunday 22 September Exuberant Trust, Standlake. 7pm start. Pavlova Winds with Malcolm Pearce piano.

Thursday 17 October 7.15pm Richmond Care Homes, Letcombe Regis. Pavlova Quartet.

Sunday 20 October Exuberant Trust, Standlake 6pm. Trio Arrieu

Friday 15 November 7.30pm. Richmond Care Homes, Letcombe Regis. Trio Arrieu.

Monday 18 November 1pm St Michael’s Cornmarket, lunchtime concert. Trio Arrieu.  01865 240 940 www.smng.org.uk

Sunday 15 December 3pm  Abbey Chamber Concerts, Abingdon.  Music for 15 winds, arranged and conducted by Robin O’Neill of the Philharmonia.  http://www.abbeychamberconcerts.org

 

Concert Calendar 2018:

Monday 29 January 2018 St Michael’s Cornmarket. lunchtime concert 1-1.50pm
01865 240 940 www.smng.org.uk
Frank Bridge Divertimento
Beethoven Variations on La Ci Darem
Malcolm Arnold Divertimento (trio)
Peter Schickele Seven Bagatelles
Chris Britton flute, Carolyn King oboe, Barbara Stuart clarinet, Simon Payne bassoon

Sunday 4 February 2018 Abbey chamber Concerts – 3pm at St Nicolas church, Abingdon  http://www.abbeychamberconcerts.org
Glinka Trio Pathetique
Mouquet La Flute de Pan
D’Rivera Danson
Shostakovich Four Waltzes
Malcolm Pearce piano, Chris Britton flute, Barbara Stuart clarinet, Simon Payne bassoon

Sunday 8 April 2018 Abbey chamber Concerts – 3pm at St Nicolas church, Abingdon  http://www.abbeychamberconcerts.org
Wagner Siegfried Idyll
Martinu La Revue de Cuisine
Puccini Crisantemi

Monday 14 May 2018 St Michael’s Cornmarket, lunchtime concert  01865 240 940 www.smng.org.uk
Saint Saens bassoon sonata
Ivor the engine
Finzi clarinet and piano
Poulenc trio
Gordon Jacob wind quartet

Monday 28 May 2018 St Michael’s Cornmarket, lunchtime concert  01865 240 940 www.smng.org.uk
Wind trios by Ibert, Milhaud and Mozart

Sunday 3 June 2018 Open Gardens event at Manor House, Blewbury for Helen and Douglas House

VUE4623_web

Thursday 7 June 2018 Event for Vue Cinemas Oxford to advertise screening of Swan Lake. With local ballet dancers. www.myvue.com/cinema/oxford/whats-on

2018-06-16 17.05.20

13-15 June 2018 Twinning trip to Colmar in Alsace https://www.jds.fr/agenda/musiques/quintet-pavlova-125394_A

Sunday 1 July 2018 Abbey chamber Concerts – 3pm at St Nicolas church, Abingdon  http://www.abbeychamberconcerts.org
Mozart Gran Partita for 13 winds
Pavlova Wind Ensemble

Saturday 7 July 2018  Wantage Summer Arts Festival 2018. Letcombe parish church at 3pm. Complementary Prosecco and scones, afterwards in Richmond Letcombe
Village Cafe. www.wantagesummerartsfestival.com/

Saturday 8 September 2018  Oxford Open Doors.  Schubert Octet at 4pm. St Michael in the Northgate, Cornmarket.
Oxford Open Doors www.oxfordpreservation.org.uk

Saturday 8 September 2018 Wind trio as part of evening concert for Home Start Oxford at  Queen’s College chapel. http://www.home-startoxford.org.uk/

Sunday 9 September 2018 Oxford Open Doors – mini-concert at 4pm at the Sheldonian Theatre  Oxford Open Doors www.oxfordpreservation.org.uk

Friday 19 October 2018 Wind Trio Rumseys coffee shop 3.30 – 4.30 pm Thame Festival of Arts & Literature www.talfestival.org

Tuesday 20 November ‘Oxford Women’s Lunch’ at The Randolph Hotel. Background music by wind trio.

Saturday 24 November 2018  Islip Music Society 7.30pm
Pavlova Wind Quintet.  To include Patterson ‘Westerly Winds’

Sunday 2 December Richmond Retirement Homes, Letcome Regis. Schubert Octet at 3pm with Radcliffe Strings.

Sunday 23 December  15 winds ensemble – conducted by Robin O’Neill. Workshop at Dorchester on Thames

Sunday 16 December 2018 – Abbey chamber Concerts – 3pm at St Nicolas church, Abingdon  www.abbeychamberconcerts.org 
Pavlova Quintet Christmas Concert, To include Reicha Andante for cor anglais. Tchaikovsky Nutcracker Suite.

 

The group’s impressively broad repertoire includes music in a huge variety of styles from arrangements of light-hearted favourite tunes to the more substantial classics for wind quintet. The Pavlova Wind Quintet delights in mixing the familiar and the unfamiliar, classical and ethnic, serene and virtuosic.

Player’s details here.

See our

log in

VUE4468_web.jpg

Advertisements